Me, One of Many.

Everyone has a unique life. Tragedy, triumph, guts and glory. There are some that live life that likely are different from families/friends. And typically those people try and help those around us. Enter me. One of many. We share the blessings that have come our way, feeling like this is the way to help others who have been less fortunate. We share the things which came through experience, hardwork or grace (shared typically in the form of opportunity/money or knowledge). Sometimes our road is a road made smooth by tears, or a foundation made solid by sacrifice. Other times it’s a path made rich by favor. No matter how it comes, we freely give.

No matter how many times I hear the story that ends in tragedy, it always breaks my heart to see someone who’s extended them self for another, and the situation end poorly for both parties. The sharer doesn’t get the benefit of seeing the participant succeed, and the participant doesn’t realize the full benefit of what’s in front of them. For me, it’s tragic. While my life was rich in many areas, some of the other areas people deem ‘critical,’ were poor. I think about the ways I’ve offered talents, time, money, knowledge, or other resources to those around me, and my story is just as tragic as the ones I heard shared by my great friend this weekend. It breaks my heart because no one walks into the situation with bad intentions. But within the scope of humanity we experience what we experience, and produce what we produce. Unfortunately, everyone can’t go in the direction of your growth. And “your” in this case means you, me, anyone attempting to bring people along WITH them. Obviously this isn’t a catch all, but it is a story I’m learning is much more common than I originally thought.

And it’s more common because the people who achieve and desire to share are a particular TYPE of personality. They’re the type of person who may have $100,000+ sitting in stock and want to share with you their trade secrets. They’re the type who managed to get internships without experience then start at an above entry level job and want to share with you how they did it. They’re the type that sees the LIMITATION of their humanity. They know it’s not by their own merit that they achieved. But, the universal truth still applies here. Opposites attract. For as much ambition/drive/intelligence/reason/fill-in-the-slash that they have, the sad stories show that who they invest most heavily in, do not possess those same traits. While it’s not a crime, it’s something that we can all learn by observing.

Life has no handouts. While you’re shaking your head and agreeing, life also takes no prisoners. Sometimes the situations we find ourselves in, will propel or execute us, off of ONE decision. As I grow in life, I learn that it’s vitally important to know who to listen to, who to grow with, who to tell your secrets to, and more over, who to entrust your time with. I don’t have it all figured out. But for such a crucial time as the one we live in, I’ve got a squad that won’t let me down. I appreciate yall :).

For everyone else who’s just like me, one of the many — I FEEL YOU. It’s hard to put yourself out there, consistently showing who you are to the world and have the cruelty of the humanity that’s close to you greet your sharing with the bottom of their boot. BUT, in the end, we win. We always have something to give, while those who just ‘take’ eventually run out of resources to procure from. I rest on these thoughts while I say prayers for those who I know are like me. I pray less pressure on your shoulders, more wisdom in your eyes and more warmth about your work, in your hearts.

Love yall, -trishaLicia

Leave a Reply

